Solo Travel - recent experience

I just have to post my recent experience on my trip to Ireland September 15.

I am a single woman and since I'm relatively new to international travel I prefer to travel with a group because of the planned activities and excellent lodgings and meals.

My prior two trips (Sicily and Cinque Terre) were a delight .  The group was friendly and inclusive and I never felt left out.

However - this last trip was extremely unpleasant.  I was ignored, excluded and sometimes avoided.  One kind woman explained that everone was grouped by family, siblings, partners, etc.  

Three incidents stand out;

1. I broke my foot in June and it was badly swollen after the 6+ hour plane trip.  The group leader got me settled with an ice pack in a sitting area adjacent to the room where tea was being served.  No one approached me to see what was wrong and no one offered to bring me a cup of tea.

2. As we were gathering for the bus I tripped and fell down a few stone steps in the quad outside Trinity College Library.  The group leader and a stranger came over to help me (no major injuries). A very kind man from the group (he appeared to be a loner too although he was with family) rushed to me to assist.  To the assembled group I was invisible. 

3. The last day was free time in Dublin.  Our hotel was not in easy walking distance to down town Dublin.  I asked a small group if I could accompany them, "We already made plans".  I asked a duo of sisters, "We don't know what we're doing yet"

As with many people my age I'm on a tight budget and save each year to afford these trips.  I can honestly say that trip was incredibly painful and I couldn't wait for it to be over.  I even considered going home early.

I'm not thin-skinned or unusually difficult or critical.  I'm friendly, adaptable, open to new experiences and cultures and lands.