Is Road Scholar Getting More Aggravating to Deal With?

I'm just wondering if RS has gotten too big and is trying to handle too much.  I keep running into road blocks in viewing my travel information in my RS account and contacting CHAT gets a response like "I don't know why you can't view it."  This is the first time I've booked travel through RS, and it has thus far yielded several frustrations in accessing information, for example receiving IMPORTANT INFORMATION emails from registration about Travel Arrangements instructing me to go to my account, BUT THEN when there I get a message "no information is available."  Repeating myself, CHAT was useless and I don't have an hour to hang on line by phone.

  • In reply to CT_PBW:

    Thanks for the input. I sent an email to the President of the Company (if I have the correct email) which may get a response. We've traveled internationally with RS for 10+ years, 15 trips, had a few issues along the way but most of our trips have been very good. We have been doing 3 -4 international trips a year.

    However, 2018 has been a disaster, 2 cancelled trips, 2 replacement trips that didn't deliver what was advertised / terrible hotels, apathetic group leaders, etc. , issues with booking, getting call backs etc. and now this. I have to wonder if RS has gotten too big, and quality both in programs and customer service suffering as a consequence. Who thinks 30 minute wait times is OK? No one at RS seems to care. I'm not a fan of posting negative comments in discussion boards, but we feel as if we have no options. So tired of being treated like we're not important.

    You are correct jjhenson, there are many other deals out there. However, it's pretty late to cancel a trip for Sept and be able to find something else in it's place. 2019 is another story.
  • In reply to swelch131011954:

    swelch, were those cancelled/replacement trips with RS? If so, they must be in big trouble. I will consider myself forewarned.
  • In reply to larrylobo42010500:

    My experience as well. On my most recent trip (Corsica), I tried posting in the "Trip Discussion Board" and got zip in reply. After the trip I started exploring some of the participants' online footprint, and realized that one of the Canadians had in fact posted about the trip, but not in the "Trip Discussion" tab, rather in "General Discussion." She didn't get any replies either, but the thing that bugged me the most is that her "reputation" is in the top 25% according to Road Scholar, just based on that single post in General Discussion, while mine is not in the top 50%, even though I faithfully post online reviews for each and every trip I take. What the heck sort of "reputation" are they tracking. I've posted multiple times in various "trip discussion" boards (I've done more than 50 trips) and even attempted to post pictures following the trips (I loved that feature of the old website; this one not so much) but I'm not reputable I guess. Go figure.
  • In reply to teresawilkin010521:

    TeresaWilkin, in general the message boards are a disaster. RS should blow them up and start from scratch. I'm constantly getting emails saying "People are talking about your program." When I click on the link it goes to a discussion for a trip that not only did I not sign up for, but one I never expressed interest in. The message boards on the RS old website were far, far superior.
  • In reply to Mary_A:

    I think RS should stop publishing so many paper catalogues and allow people to choose not to receive them. Perhaps they can publish only a few that people can request. The money they save should be used to hire a really good IT team to set up discussion boards that work. We should be able to search for information by topic or progam. Too many people are posting “Who else is going on this trip?” type of question on the general discussion forums instead of the the trip specific place. That is another problem RS needs to fix: people who enroll should be automatically added to the trip specific discussion board without having to ask repeatedly to have access to it. That way, only people who are enrolled in that trip will read and pariticipate in the discussions. These are just some very basic things the IT team needs to work on; there are many more issues.
  • In reply to teresawilkin010521:

    Just got this in an email from RS:
    "Well done! Having a lively and engaged community is what makes Road Scholar so special. Because you have been such an active member on our online discussion boards, you’ve earned the honorary designation of
    Discussion Starter I. It’s a fun way for us to thank you for being a superstar! Congratulations! You’re now part of a special club."

    Have they even noticed that I have been CRYING OUT FOR HELP on the discussion boards? I've faithfully written reviews for years and never gotten a response. It's just another indication of how out of touch RS is with online forums / discussion boards, and obviously their customers in general.

    HELLO ROAD SCHOLAR why don't you respond to me about my concerns on you have destroyed my trip?
  • In reply to swelch131011954:

    Ha! That's both funny and sad. Wonder if RS will ever catch the irony?
  • In reply to larrylobo42010500:

    I asked a question about Machu Picchu. I don't understand your reply? Please clarify.
  • In reply to swelch131011954:

    Hello swelch131011954,
    We are so sorry to hear of the difficulties you have been experiencing with your trip. One of our team will be in touch very soon to help you resolve the issues.
    All the best,
    Your Friends at Road Scholar
  • In reply to swelch131011954:

    I wanted to update this board about the ONGOING issues with my travel for mid September. After emailing the president of the company, about the problems RS caused in my flight arrangements, I was contacted by a person from RS. She admitted RS had made a mistake changing the flight arrangements, and that we should never have been told we could not speak to a supervisor. They asked for a few days to investigate and make arrangements.

    The current solution requires us to fly a day in advance to our destination. RS will pay for the flight changes and for our extra hotel stay and supposedly arrangements from the airport to the hotel. We were told over a week ago that they needed to get the on the ground people to make the hotel arrangements. So guess what: repeated phone calls to the RS contact we were given go to voice mail, no one has contacted us, and we still have no idea if the hotel and airport transfer arrangements have been made.

    One would think that after everything RS screwed up in our flight arrangements they would have wanted to show a little extra customer support, and not leave us STILL WITHOUT CONFIRMED travel arrangements, two weeks after we notified RS of the problems they caused. Because RS website is so poor, we are not able to look at our travel arrangements on line to see if things have been arranged and no one bothered to tell us, and we are left once again, wondering if our issues (caused by RS) have fallen thru the cracks.

    We have traveled internationally with RS for 10 years, and have never had the kinds of problems with travel arrangements, cancelled trips, promises to call us back, issues on the ground with trips not delivering what is promised in the program guides, etc. in 2018. This saddens me deeply, because I feel I can no longer trust the company to deliver.
  • In reply to swelch131011954:

    You can make your own arrangements as a backup plan. Just ensure they have a cancellation policy. Once you get confirmation from RS you can cancel. On the plus side you have a day of leisure once you arrive to recover from all the stress of dealing with these travel arrangements.
    Sadly there are very few companies I deal with anymore that give me the warm fuzzies. I hope after all this you have an awesome trip and am looking forward to hearing it was worth it.
  • In reply to swelch131011954:

    Hello swelch131011954,
    We apologize that we couldn’t confirm your hotel nights immediately, however we do understand that you were able to speak with a member of our Travel Services team earlier today and that you were able to get the issue resolved with them. We know that travel is an important service that we provide and we’re sorry that you had some challenges with the arrangements this time.

    We hope you have an enjoyable time on your program and feel free to let us know if you have any further questions or concerns.

    All the best,
    Your Friends at Road Scholar